I have code which has features X and Y.
Bob needs access to the code to help develop feature X further.
Normally I would allow Bob to clone the code, but the problem is that feature Y is confidential, so this is not possible. Bob does not need to be able to view feature Y code to develop feature X further.
If I create a new branch to share with Bob and delete feature Y from the code, it will still be viewable in the commit history.
So I guess the only option is:
- Create a new branch and delete feature Y.
- Create a completely new repository to share with Bob
- Copy the files (while the new Y-less branch is checked out) to the new repository.
- Give Bob access to that new repository.
- After Bob develops feature X further, cherry pick relevant lines and files, and put them into my master. (painful)
Is there a better way to go about this?