-5

WhatsApp has the "Delete For Everyone" feature that makes it easy to delete messages you did not intend to send to the other user.

WhatsApp users get this message when the other party recalls a previously sent message

For text messages, this recall is easy, but what about Video, Photo or other message resources? In Android, whatsapp messages and resources get saved on the device. Is that deleted too using unlink function that is available in many *nix platforms?

Anyone who did static analysis care to comment?

closed as off-topic by amon, gnat, Arseni Mourzenko, Robert Harvey, Greg Burghardt Oct 14 '18 at 18:10

  • This question does not appear to be about software engineering within the scope defined in the help center.
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 6
    I'm voting to close this question as off-topic because we are not WhatsApp's technical support team. Related: Why can't I ask customer service-related questions? – amon Oct 13 '18 at 8:28
  • I was looking for a Quora like answer which I found below. – Nederealm Oct 13 '18 at 10:27
  • 1
    Unlike Quora, this site is only about Software Engineering as defined in our help center. This includes questions about design-level problems you encounter while developing software. This does not include speculation on the inner workings of existing software, nor does it include customer support style questions. While you don't “need” WhatsApp's customer support to answer your question, that answer would not be out of place in their support center. – amon Oct 13 '18 at 10:36
  • 2
    I would guess it is exactly the same as for text messages: if the user has already copied the content out of WhatsApp, then there is absolutely nothing whatsoever that WhatsApp can do about it. If the user hasn't copied the content out of WhatsApp yet, then WhatsApp still has full control and can delete it. There is zero difference between text messages and media messages. – Jörg W Mittag Oct 15 '18 at 7:07
-3

Apparently there is an answer here:

Does delete for everyone feature on WhatsApp work for videos or pictures which were already downloaded by the recipient on their phone?

No, If the person has backup to Google Photos or Drive option enabled for their WhatsApp the photos does not get deleted even if you delete it for everyone. It remains on the cloud.

However if the backup to cloud option isn't enabled the photo gets deleted from the recipients smartphone too even if downloaded!

So unless there is a better and/or updated answer with newer versions, will just have to take this one.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.